Skip to content →

About Us

We Serve, Like Never Before!

Cambridge Lions serving Cambridge, Ohio and it’s surrounding communities since 1924!


Weekly: Monday 12:00 Noon at Mr. Lee’s Restaurant Banquet Room. >Map


To create and foster a spirit of understanding among all people for humanitarian needs by providing voluntary services through community involvement and international cooperation.


1. To create and foster a spirit of understanding among the peoples of the world.

2. To promote the principles of good government and good citizenship.

3. To take an active interest in the civic, cultural, social and moral welfare of the community.

4. To unite the clubs in the bonds of friendship, good fellowship and mutual understanding.

5. To provide a forum for the open discussion of all matters of public interest, provided, however, that partisan politics and sectarian religion shall not be debated by club members.

6. To encourage service-minded people to serve their community without personal financial reward, and to encourage efficiency and promote high ethical standards in commerce, industry, professions, public works and private endeavors.


1. To show my faith in the worthiness of my vocation by industrious application to the end that I may merit a reputation of quality of service.

2. To seek success and to demand all fair remuneration or profit as my just due, but to accept no profit or success at the price of my own self-respect lost because of unfair advantage taken or because of questionable acts on my part.

3. To remember that in building up my business it is not necessary to tear down another’s; to be loyal to my clients or customers and true to myself.

4. Whenever a doubt arises as to the right or ethics of my position or action towards others, to resolve such doubt against myself.

5. To hold friendship as an end and not a means. To hold that true friendship exists not on account of the service performed by one to another, but that true friendship demands nothing but accepts service in the spirit in which it is given.

6. Always to bear in mind my obligations as a citizen to my nation, my state and my community, and to give them my unswerving loyalty in word, act, and deed. To give them freely of my time, labor, and means.

7. To aid others by giving my sympathy to those in distress, my aid to the weak, and my substance to the needy.

8. To be careful with my criticism and liberal with my praise; to build up and not destroy.


Past Presidents 

PRESIDENT                YEAR

Henry McCartney       1924/25

F.C. Hoyle                        25/26

F.S. Dollison                   26/27

J.E. Stewart                     27/28

W.B. DeLong                   28/29

C.H. Allman                     29/30

J.B. Stewart                     30/31

C.A. Barber                      31/32

V.C. Thompson               32/33

Alfred Dougherty           33/34

Rev. John McLeod        34/35

Rev. John McLeod        35/36

H.C. Callihan                   36/37

Lawrence Maher            37/38

A.J. Espy                            38/39

Clarence Young              39/40

Simon Ruby                     40/41

Orin Johnson                   41/42

Walter Huhn                    42/43

Dr. M.J. Thomas             43/44

D.F. Smith                         44/45

E.C. Lawyer                       45/46

George Flint                      46/47

Howard Faught               47/48

D.D. Agnew                       48/49

Jack LePage                      49/50

J.O. Bailey                          50/51

Dwight M. Pulley             51/52

Samuel L. Fogelsong      52/53

Dr. Robert A. Ringer      53/54

William F. Gilbow           54/55

Andre Oderbrecht           55/56

P. Walter Fairchild          56/57

Dr. W.R. Salmans            57/58

Harold Gillespie              58/59

Francis J. Markley          59/60

Adam Hamm, Jr.            60/61

Dr. Joseph T. Smith       61/62

Ivan D. Townsend           62/63

Jack Henderson               63/64

Ralph Braden                   64/65

Russell Diehl                    65/66

Milton O. Law                  66/67

Eugene Farnsworth       67/68

Jack R. Taylor                 68/69

Howard R. Cherry         69/70

Henry Keifer                    70/71

John O. Mehaffey           71/72

James Caldwell               72/73

William E. Channell      73/74

Ronald W. Guthrie        74/75

Wayne E. Fairchild        75/76

C. William Lilienthal     76/77

Harold R. Knouff            77/78

Robert E. Jonard            78/79

Robert G. Bistor             79/80

Richard F. Barrett         80/81

H. Thomas Cahoon        81/82

William H. Stoner          82/83

Raymond M. Chorey     83/84

David L. Wilson              84/85

Steven D. Wilson            85/86

David Conrath                 86/87

Frank Stroud                   87/88

Gary A. Lyons                  88/89

Steve E. Gierhart           89/90

Timothy R. McKim       90/91

Robert (Rocky) Hill      91/92

Scott Wilson                   92/93

Larry Hivnor                  93/94

David Jacobs                  94/95

Frank McClure               95/96

Dan Carpenetti               96/97

Tommy Davey                97/98

William Cowgill            98/99

Michael K. Edwards    99/2000

Steven Marvin               00/01

Chris Rocco                    01/02

Gene Moore                   02/03

Mike Upton                    03/04

David Conrath              04/05

Dan Padden                   05/06

Les Wymer                     06/07

Pat Craig                         07/08

Terry Losego                 08/09

Bryan Ficken                 09/10

Ben Cahoon                    10/11

Matt Dolan                      11/12

Roger Gotcher               12/13

Scott Robinson              13/14

Barry Ross                      14/15

Charles Fondale            15/16

Troy Simmons                18/19

Dana Carley                     19/20



Original Charter

The Cambridge Lions Club was formed in 1924. There were thirty-six charter members. Officers: President- Henry McCartney, Banker: 1st VP- Frank S Dollison, City Editor—2nd VP- Dr. E G Holliday, Physician: 3rd VP. E B Castor, Monuments: Secretary- Burt Guthrie, Savings Bank: Treasurer- Karl M Cosgrove, Broker: Lion Tamer- Channing D Harris, Shop Foreman: Tail Twister- Leonard W Bell, Musical Instruments: Directors—J B Stewart, Mayor: U D Thompson, Flour & Feed: Dr.  W W Lawrence, Surgeon: T C Knox, Automobile Dealer. Their meeting time was twelve noon on Monday (which it still is today) at the Knights of Pythias Hall (now it is at the Holiday Inn). The last Monday of the month the meeting was at 6:00 P. M. The Charter fee was $25.00 and the local dues were $15.00 per member. The organization date was November 7, 1924. By the time the charter was signed on December 31, 1924 six new members had been added.  The field director and organizer was Perry W. Hunsicker assisted by a Mr. Wagner. The Charter banquet and presentation was held January 26, 1925 at the K of P Hall. J. Henry Newman was toastmaster and Rev. J. C. Smith gave the invocation. District Governor Albert O. Elton presented the charter and it was accepted by Lion President H. W. McCartney.